Wednesday, March 28, 2007

The new Robert Harris?

From the Publisher's Lunch newsletter:
28-year-old screenwriter Tom Rob Smith's debut novel CHILD 44, pitched as in the tradition of Robert Harris and Martin Cruz Smith, set in the Soviet Union on the eve of Stalin's death, and based in part on real events, to Suzanne Baboneau at Simon & Schuster UK, at auction, for publication in spring 2008, by James Gill at PFD.
From his agent's page:
Tom Rob Smith is 28. He graduated from the University of Cambridge in 2001 with a First-class degree in English Literature and in the same year was awarded the Harper-Wood Creative Writing scholarship to the Italian University of Pavia. He has worked as a screenwriter ever since. His UK television work includes Doctors and Dream Team, and he also storylined Cambodia's first ever soap opera for the BBC World Service Trust. He has a number of feature-film screenplays in development, including Somewhere in the Shadow, adapted from a short story by Jeff Noon, as well as a number of projects for television. His debut novel Child 44 will be published in 2008. Rights have been sold in the UK, US, France, Netherlands, and Italy.

Born in England to a Swedish mother and an English father, Tom lives and works in London.

1 comment:

Maxine said...

Welcome back, Karen! (If you are back).
Robert Harris not quite my cup of tea though I've read several of his -- which have seemed a bit muddled to me, as if he needed to go through them again before sending them off to the publisher. Or, could be the state of my brain. But I thought he could have made a bit more of (say) the Hitler diaries, Enigma and Fatherland than he did.
Of that genre, I preferred Le Carre, though I haven't read his last few.