Sunday, November 28, 2010

New Reviews: Bruce, de Santis, Ellis, Lawrence, McCarthy, Puzo

One competition for November and it is open to UK & Europe residents and closes on 30th November:
Win the Ellis Peters Award shortlist (6 books)

Here are this week's reviews:
Maxine Clarke reviews The Siren by Alison Bruce the second in her Cambridge set DC Gary Goodhew series;

I review Pablo de Santis's Voltaire's Calligrapher, tr. Lisa Carter which I enjoyed very much but it is not a traditional crime novel;

Don't let the cover put you off this fine first novel from Joy Ellis, Mask Wars set in the Fens, and reviewed here by Michelle Peckham;

Terry Halligan was impressed with Paul Lawrence's A Plague of Sinners the second in the Harry Lytle series and Terry shares some interesting facts about the Plague in his review;

Laura Root reviews Kevin McCarthy's debut novel, Peeler set in 1920s Ireland concluding that it "should appeal to fans of Philip Kerr or C J Sansom"

and Rik Shepherd reviews Mario Puzo's "long lost" revenge thriller, Six Graves to Munich.
Previous reviews can be found in the review archive and forthcoming titles can be found by author or date, here.

2 comments:

Jose Ignacio Escribano said...

Voltaire's Calligrapher sounds quite interesting. Thank you Karen for a very fine review. I might use it for next year Global Reading Challenge.

Margot Kinberg said...

Karen - Thanks, as always for this list of review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the De Santis novel. I like his word, and was hoping that the new one would be good.